Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

St. Johns River State College - Academic Affairs


1-6. MLA Handbook Plus

Session Information

MLA Handbook Plus

The 9th edition of the MLA Handbook published in 2021 was a welcome update relative to the sparse nature of the 8th edition. In this new 9th edition, there are more explanations of the format and an appendix of citation examples. In addition to the improvements in this new edition, also new in January 2022 is MLA’s electronic platform, MLA Handbook Plus. SJR State’s Library has invested in an institutional-level subscription to the MLA Handbook Plus to ensure all students and faculty have easy access to this valuable tool. Please join us in this session to both explore the differences between the 8th and 9th editions of the MLA Handbook and learn how the new electronic MLA Handbook Plus platform works and what it can do for you.

Presenter: Eric Biggs, Learning Resources

Watch the recording

ResourceMLA Handbook Plus


St. Johns River State College, an equal access institution, prohibits discrimination in its employment, programs, activities, policies and procedures based on race, sex, gender, gender identity, age, color, religion, national origin, ethnicity, disability, pregnancy, sexual orientation, marital status, genetic information or veteran status. Questions pertaining to education equity, equal access or equal opportunity should be addressed to the College Title IX Coordinator/Equity Officer: Charles Romer, Room A0173, 5001 St. Johns Avenue, Palatka, FL 32177; (386) 312-4074; CharlesRomer@sjrstate.edu Anonymous reporting is available at SJRstate.edu/report. Inquiries/complaints can be filed with the Title IX Coordinator/Equity Officer online, in person, via mail, via email or with the US Department of Education, Office of Civil Rights, Atlanta Office, 61 Forsyth St. SW Suite 19T10, Atlanta, GA 30303-8927. | St. Johns River State College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. Questions about the accreditation of St. Johns River State College may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, by calling 404-679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (www.sacscoc.org).